## MINUTES

## University of Connecticut Board of Trustees

## Committee for Research, Entrepreneurship, and Innovation February 13, 2025 Virtual Meeting

Committee Members: Philip Rubin, Sean Dunn Marilda Gandara,

Other Trustees: Daniel Toscano

Other Committee Members: Konstantine Drakonakis, Timothy Shannon, Richard Vogel

University Senate Representative: Edward Weingart

University Staff: Radenka Maric, Pamir Alpay, Abhijit Banerjee, George Bollas, Douglas, Casa, Christopher Connors, Steve Criss, Anne D'Alleva, Joanna Desjardin, Lindsay DiStefano, Ana Fidantsef, Amy Gorin, Michael Invernale, Amit Kumar, Christine McCluskey, Ryan McMillian, Sanjeev Nayak, Thanh Nguyen, Erika Paine, Paul Parker, Rachel Rubin, Vinay Thakur, Ira Turner, Neeraj Visen, Daniel Weiner

Vice Chair Rubin called the meeting to order at 1:01 p.m.

1. Public Participation

No members of the public signed up to address the Committee.

2. Minutes from September 12, 2024, Meeting

On a motion by Committee Member Vogel, seconded by Trustee Gandara, the Committee voted unanimously to approve the minutes of the September 12, 2024, Meeting.

3. Office of the Vice President for Research Updates – Dr. Pamir Alpay, Vice President for Research, Innovation and Entrepreneurship

- 4. Presentations:
  - a) *Expanding Research/Services for Laborer/Military Heat Safety* Dr. Douglas J. Casa, Board of Trustees Distinguished Professor, Kinesiology Chief Executive Officer of the Korey Stringer Institute
  - b) *SMART-AI: Smart Manufacturing Automation Resilience Through Artificial Intelligence* Dr. George Bollas, Professor, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering Director of Pratt & Whitney Institute for Advanced Systems Engineering
  - c) *Single-Time Microneedles for Vaccines and other Therapeutics* Dr. Thanh D. Nguyen, Associate Professor, Mechanical, Aerospace and Manufacturing Engineering Center for Biomedical & Bioengineering Innovation
- 5. University Senate Representative Report
- 6. Other Business

There was no Other Business.

7. Executive Session

There was no Executive Session.

8. Adjournment

On a motion by Committee Member Shannon, seconded by Committee Member Vogel, the Committee voted unanimously to adjourn the meeting. The Committee meeting adjourned at 1:52 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted, Jan Rockwood Secretary to the Committee