#### **DRAFT MINUTES**

# University of Connecticut Board of Trustees

# Buildings, Grounds and Environment Committee April 15, 2025 Virtual Meeting

Committee Trustees: Marilda Gandara, Jeanine Gouin, Andrea Dennis-LaVigne

UConn Health Board of Directors

Directors Committee Members: Richard Carbray, Jr., Francis Archambault, Jr.

Other Trustees: Mark Boxer, Shari Cantor, Sean Dunn, Joy Hamer, Bryan Pollard,

Thomas Ritter, Daniel Toscano

Other Guests: Jonathan Dach, Governor Lamont's Designee on the Board

University Senate Representatives: Amvrossios Bagtzoglou

University Staff: President Maric, Andrew Agwunobi, Debbie Carone, Anne

D'Alleva, Gail Garber, Nicole Gelston, Jeffrey Geoghegan, Nathan

Fuerst, David Hook, Philip Hunt, George Karsanow, Andrea Keilty, Michael Kirk, David Koehler, Eric Kruger, Nathan LaVallee, Lynn Lesniak, Joann Lombardo, Margaret McCarthy, Stanley Nolan, Angelo Quaresima, Stephanie Reitz, Rachel Rubin, Jennifer Smith, Joseph Thompson, Sean Vasington, Michelle

Williams, Kristin Wirtanen, Reka Wrynn

Vice-Chair Gandara called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m.

# 1. Public Participation

No members of the public signed up to address the Committee.

### 2. Executive Session

On a motion by Trustee Gouin, seconded by Director Archambault, the Committee voted unanimously to go into Executive Session at 10:04 a.m. pursuant to Connecticut General Statutes section 1-210(b)(1) and 1-210(b)(5).

The following Committee Trustees were in attendance: Gandara, Gouin, and Dennis-LaVigne.

UConn Health Board of Directors members Archambault and Carbray were in attendance.

The following Trustees were also in attendance: Mark Boxer, Shari Cantor, Sean Dunn, Joy Hamer, Bryan Pollard, Thomas Ritter, and Daniel Toscano.

Governor Lamont's designee, Jonathan Dach, was also in attendance.

The following University staff were in attendance for the entire Executive Session: Maric, Agwunobi, Carone, D'Alleva, Fuerst, Garber, Gelston, Geoghegan, Heinlein, Hunt, Kirk, Kruger, LaVallee, Lombardo, Nolan, Rubin, Smith, Vasington, Williams, and Wrynn.

The Executive Session ended at 12:00 p.m., and the Committee returned to Open Session at 12:03 p.m.

3. Avery Point Residence Hall Discussion

It was the consensus of the Buildings, Grounds and Environment Committee to recommend a planning budget of \$750,000 for an Avery Point Residence Hall to the Financial Affairs Committee for their consideration.

4. Minutes of the Buildings, Grounds and Environment Committee Meeting of September 17, 2024

On a motion by Trustee Gouin, seconded by Director Archambault, the Committee voted unanimously to approve the minutes of the November 12, 2024, Meeting.

5. Six (6) Proposed Easements with Wilhusky Housing LLC concerning development of Site A of off-campus student housing known as The Mark on North Eagleville Road

On a motion by Director Archambault, seconded by Director Carbray, the Committee voted unanimously to recommend this item to the full Board for approval.

6. Cooperation Agreement with Wilhusky Housing LLC concerning development of Site A of offcampus student housing known as The Mark on North Eagleville Road

On a motion by Director Archambault, seconded by Director Carbray, the Committee voted unanimously to recommend this item to the full Board for approval.

# 7. Executive Session

On a motion by Director Archambault, seconded by Trustee Dennis-LaVigne, the Committee voted unanimously to return to Executive Session at 12:20 p.m. pursuant to Connecticut General Statutes section 1-210(b)(1) and 1-210(b)(5).

The following Committee Trustees were in attendance: Gandara, Gouin, and Dennis-LaVigne.

UConn Health Board of Directors members Archambault and Carbray were in attendance.

The following Trustees were also in attendance: Mark Boxer, Shari Cantor, Sean Dunn, Joy Hamer, Bryan Pollard, Thomas Ritter, and Daniel Toscano.

Governor Lamont's designee, Jonathan Dach, was also in attendance.

The following University staff were in attendance for the entire Executive Session: Maric, Agwunobi, Carone, D'Alleva, Fuerst, Garber, Gelston, Geoghegan, Heinlein, Hunt, Kirk, Kruger, LaVallee, Lombardo, Nolan, Rubin, Smith, Vasington, Williams, and Wrynn.

The Executive Session ended at 12:24 p.m., and the Committee returned to Open Session at 12:28 p.m.

8. Construction Assurance Office Report – April 2025

This agenda item was informational.

9. Project Updates, Storrs Based Programs

This agenda item was informational.

- 10. UConn Health Project Updates, Facilities Development and Operations
- 11. Projects Reviewed by BGE and to be presented to Financial Affairs on April 22, 2025, for Storrs Based Programs and UConn Health

This agenda item was informational.

12. University Senate Representative Report

There was no University Senate Representative Report.

13. Summary of Individual Change Orders Greater Than 3% of Project Cost (Storrs-based projects)

This agenda item was informational.

14. Quarterly Construction Status Report, Period Ending December 31, 2024

This agenda item was informational.

15. Construction Projects Status Report – February 26, 2025

This agenda item was informational.

16. Other Business

There was no Other Business.

17. Adjournment

On a motion by Trustee Gouin, seconded by Director Carbray, the Committee voted unanimously to adjourn the meeting at 12:29 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Debbie I. Carone

Debbie L. Carone

Secretary to the Committee

Page 3 of 3