MINUTES

University of Connecticut Board of Trustees

Institutional Advancement Committee November 26, 2024 Virtual Meeting

Committee Trustees: Andrea Dennis-LaVigne, Shari Cantor, Jeanine Gouin

Bryan Pollard

Other Trustees: Daniel Toscano

University Senate Representative: Timothy Folta

University Staff: Radenka Maric, Anne D'Alleva, Nathan Fuerst, Michael

Kirk, Joann Lombardo, Dean Nelson, Rachel Rubin,

Reka Wrynn

UConn Foundation Staff: Mo Cotton Kelly, Amy Yancey

Vice-Chair Dennis-LaVigne called the meeting to order at 1:00 p.m.

1. Public Participation

No members of the public signed up to address the Committee.

- 2. The 2025 Institutional Advancement Committee meeting dates were circulated.
- 3. On a motion by Trustee Gouin, seconded by Trustee Pollard, the Committee voted unanimously to approve the minutes of the October 15, 2024, Meeting.
- 4. Naming Resolutions

On a motion by Trustee Gouin seconded by Trustee Pollard, the Committee voted unanimously to approve the naming recommendation for the Stuart F. Smith Reading Room.

On a motion by Trustee Gouin, seconded by Trustee Cantor, the Committee voted unanimously to approve the Named Gift Opportunities for the Hartford Campus.

5. Legislative Update

Governmental Relations Senior Director Lombardo provided the Committee with a legislative update.

6. UConn Foundation / Alumni Update

UConn Foundation President and Chief Executive Officer Yancey and Chief People Officer and Senior Vice President for Alumni Relations Cotton Kelly provided the Committee with an overview of recent UConn Foundation fundraising, outreach, and goals.

- 7. University Communications Update Interim Vice President for Communications Kirk shared an update of work happening in University Communications.
- 8. University Senate Representative Report
 University Senate Representative Folta shared a Senate report with the Committee.

9. Other Business

On a motion by Trustee Gouin, seconded by Trustee Cantor, the Committee voted unanimously to add the discussion of Sanford Cloud's 20 years of service to the agenda. Discussion ensued and on a motion by Trustee Gouin, seconded by Trustee Cantor the Committee voted unanimously to approve a naming recommendation from the President's Naming Facilities Committee to honor Sanford Cloud.

10. Executive Session

There was no Executive Session.

11. Adjournment

On a motion by Trustee Gouin, seconded by Trustee Pollard, the meeting was adjourned at 1:52 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Jen Cote Secretary to the Committee