Honors and Awards Committee Meeting Draft Minutes

University of Connecticut Board of Trustees

Tuesday, March 11, 2025

Special Virtual Meeting

Committee Trustees: Andrea Dennis-LaVigne, Bryan Pollard, Philip Rubin

Other Committee Members: Andrew Awunobi, A. Mehdi Anwar, Anne D'Alleva,

Louis Hanzlik, Radenka Maric, Logan McCallum Laval

University Staff: Philip Hunt, Maryann Markowski, Rachel Rubin

President Maric called the meeting to order at 3:00 p.m.

1. Public Participation (limited to agenda items)

No members of the public signed up to address the Committee.

2. Minutes of the Special Meeting of November 15, 2024

On a motion by Trustee Rubin, seconded by Trustee Dennis-LaVigne, the Committee voted to approve the minutes of the November 15, 2024, Special Meeting. Trustee Pollard abstained from voting on the minutes.

3. Honorary Degree Nominees

On a motion by Trustee Rubin, seconded by Professor Hanzlik, the Committee voted unanimously to recommend that the Board of Trustees award honorary degrees to the following individuals:

- Rodney Butler, Doctor of Humane Letters
- Manasse Mbonye, Doctor of Science
- Sethuraman Panchanathan, Doctor of Science
- Joan Reede, Doctor of Science
- JoAnn Trejo, Doctor of Science

4. Executive Session

There was no Executive Session.

5. Adjournment

On a motion by Trustee Pollard, seconded by Trustee Rubin, the Committee voted unanimously to adjourn the meeting. The Committee meeting adjourned at 3:05 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Maryann Markowski Staff to the Committee