AGENDA

SPECIAL MEETING

University of Connecticut Board of Trustees

Student Life Committee September 30, 2024, at 4:00 p.m. Virtual Meeting

Public Streaming Link (with live captioning upon request): https://ait.uconn.edu/bot

(A recording of the meeting will be posted on the Board website https://boardoftrustees.uconn.edu/ within seven days of the meeting.)

- 1. Public Participation*
 - * Individuals who wish to speak during the Public Participation portion, of the Monday, September 30, meeting, limited to agenda items, must sign up 24 hours in advance of the meeting's start time (i.e., 4:00 p.m. on Friday, September 27) by emailing BoardCommittees@uconn.edu. Speaking requests must include a name, telephone number, topic, and affiliation with the University (i.e., student, employee, member of the public). The Committee may limit the entirety of public comment to a maximum of 30 minutes. As an alternative, individuals may submit written comments to the Committee via BoardCommittees@uconn.edu, and all comments will be transmitted to the Committee.
- 2. Minutes from the April 10, 2024, Student Life Committee Meeting
- 3. Minutes from the July 15, 2024, Special Joint Meeting of the Committee for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion and the Student Life Committee
- 4. Standing Updates:
 - Vice President for Student Life and Enrollment
 - Provost and Dean of Students
- 5. Policy Updates:
 - The Student Code
 - Outdoor Amplified and Projected Sound
 - Outdoor Activities Policy
- 6. Housing at the Regional Campuses
- 7. Election & Voting
- 8. Student Organization Constitution Updates (Informational)
- 9. University Senate Representative Report
- 10. Executive Session (as needed)
- 11. Adjournment

DRAFT MINUTES

TELEPHONE MEETING

UNIVERSITY OF CONNECTICUT BOARD OF TRUSTEES

STUDENT LIFE COMMITTEE April 10, 2024

Committee Trustees: Shari Cantor, Andrea Dennis-LaVigne, Aanya Mehta,

Bryan Pollard

Other Trustees: Daniel Toscano

Non-Board Committee Members: Makenzie Robinson

University Senate Representatives: Karen Bresciano

University Staff: Anne D'Alleva, Nathan Fuerst, Fany Hannon, Maureen

Armstrong, Laura Burton, Jenn Longa

Guests: Zachary Boudah, Undergraduate Student and President of the

Associated Student Government at the Avery Point Campus

Vice-Chair Cantor called the meeting to order at 4:01 p.m.

1. Public Participation

No members of the public signed up to address the Committee.

2. Minutes from the February 7, 2024, Meeting

On a motion by Trustee Pollard, seconded by Trustee Dennis-LaVigne, the Committee voted unanimously to approve the minutes of the February 7, 2024, Meeting.

3. Standing Updates:

Student Life and Enrollment Update

Vice President for Student Life and Enrollment Fuerst provided updates on Spring 2024 record enrollments and on-campus student housing occupancy; ongoing FASFA (Free Application for Federal Student Aid) delays; Spring UConn Bound Days; and watch parties for the Men's and Women's Basketball NCAA Final Four and Championship games.

Provost and Dean of Students Update

Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs D'Alleva and Interim Dean of Students Hannon provided updates on the internal searches for a Vice Provost for Undergraduate Student Success, Vice Provost and Dean of the Graduate School, and the Dean of Students.

4. Protect the Pack Program

Jenn Longa, Assistant Dean of Students for Victim Support Services and Bystander Initiatives, gave a brief presentation on Protect the Pack, a by-stander intervention program.

5. Campus Change Student

Interim Dean of Students Hannon gave an overview of a peer mentoring program for campus change students.

6. Posting Policy

Vice President Fuerst briefly discussed a draft of the Posting Policy, which will be presented to the Policy Committee later this month.

7. University Senate Representative Report

University Senate Representative Bresciano reported on the establishment of a learning accommodation task force and changes to the descriptions of Academic Standing and Dismissals.

8. Notification of Proposed Changes to the By-Laws of the University of Connecticut

Zachary Boudah, Undergraduate Student and President of the Associated Student Government at the Avery Point Campus, presented his proposed changes to the *By-Laws of the University of Connecticut*, which focused on regional campus student representation.

On a motion by Trustee Mehta, seconded by Trustee Dennis-LaVigne, the Committee voted unanimously to recommend the proposed changes to the full Board.

9. Other Business

There was no Other Business.

10. Executive Session

There was no Executive Session.

11. Adjournment

On a motion by Trustee Pollard, seconded by Trustee Mehta, the Committee voted unanimously to adjourn the meeting. The Committee meeting adjourned at 5:25 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Jennifer Brodie Secretary to the Committee

DRAFT MINUTES

Special Joint Virtual Meeting

University of Connecticut Board of Trustees Committees for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion and Student Life

July 15, 2024

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

Committee Trustees:

Andrea Dennis-LaVigne, Andy Bessette, Charles Bunnell,

Shari Cantor, Sanford Cloud, Jr., Marilda Gandara, Bryan Pollard

Student Life Committee Trustees:

Shari Cantor, Andrea Dennis-LaVigne, Sean Dunn, Joy Hamer,

Bryan Pollard

University Senate Representative:

to the Student Life Committee

Tina McCarthy

University Staff: Anne D'Alleva, Nathan Fuerst, Fany Hannon, Jeffrey Hines,

Philip Hunt, Alexis Lohrey, Brandon Murray, Jonelle Reynolds,

Rachel Rubin, Tadarrayl Starke, Michelle Williams

Vice-Chairs Dennis-LaVigne and Cantor called the Joint Meeting of the Committees for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion and Student Life to order at 9:00 a.m.

1. Public Participation

No members of the public signed up to address the Committees.

2. Executive Session

EXECUTIVE SESSION

On a motion by Trustee Bessette, seconded by Trustee Pollard, the Committees voted unanimously to go into Executive Session at 9:06 a.m. regarding:

1. Preliminary drafts or notes provided the public agency has determined that the public interest in withholding such documents clearly outweighs the public interest in disclosure [CGS Section 1-210(b)(1)].

The following Trustees were in attendance: Bessette, Bunnell, Cantor, Cloud, Dennis-LaVigne, Dunn, Hamer, Gandara, and Pollard.

The following University staff were in attendance for the entire Executive Session: D'Alleva, Fuerst, Hannon, Hines, Hunt, Lohrey, Murray, Reynolds, Rubin, Starke, and Williams.

The Executive Session ended at 9:58 a.m., and the Committees returned to Open Session at 9:59 a.m.

3. Adjournment

On a motion by Trustee Pollard, seconded by Trustee Cantor, the Committees voted unanimously to adjourn the Joint Meeting at 10:00 a.m.