MINUTES

University of Connecticut Board of Trustees

Honors & Awards Committee Special Virtual Meeting October 7, 2024

Committee Trustees: Andrea Dennis-LaVigne, Joy Hamer, Bryan Pollard, Philip

Rubin

Other Committee Members: Andrew Agwunobi, A. Mehdi Anwar, Anne D'Alleva,

Radenka Maric, Logan McCallum Laval, Bandana

Purkayastha, Colin Varnet

University Staff: Philip Hunt, Maryann Markowski, Rachel Rubin

President Maric called the meeting to order at 11:01 a.m.

1. Public Participation (limited to agenda items)

No members of the public signed up to address the Committee.

2. Minutes of the Special Meeting of March 25, 2024.

On a motion by Trustee Rubin, seconded by Trustee Pollard, the Committee voted unanimously to approve the minutes of the March 25, 2024, Special Meeting.

3. Executive Session

On a motion by Trustee Pollard, seconded by Trustee Dennis-LaVigne, the Committee voted unanimously to go into Executive Session at 11:06 a.m. regarding:

Preliminary drafts or notes provided the public agency has determined that
the public interest in withholding such documents clearly outweighs the public
interest in disclosure [pursuant to Connecticut General Statute (CGS) Section 1210(b)(1)].

The following Committee members were in attendance: Agwunobi, Anwar, D'Alleva, Dennis-LaVigne, Hamer, McCallum Laval, Pollard, Purkayastha, Rubin, and Varnet.

The following University staff were in attendance for the entire Executive Session: Hunt, Markowski, and Rubin.

The Executive Session ended at 12:32 p.m., and the Committee returned to Open Session at 12:32 p.m.

4. Honorary Degree Nominees

The Committee will meet at a future date to confirm nominees and vote on a recommendation to the Board.

5. Adjournment

On a motion by Trustee Rubin, seconded by Trustee Pollard, the Committee voted unanimously to adjourn the meeting. The Committee meeting adjourned at 12:34 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Maryann Markowski Staff to the Committee