MINUTES

University of Connecticut Board of Trustees

Buildings, Grounds and Environment Committee September 17, 2024 Virtual Meeting

Committee Trustees: Marilda Gandara, Jeanine Gouin, Andrea Dennis-LaVigne,

UConn Health Board of Directors

Directors Committee Members: Francis Archambault, Jr.

Other Trustees: Andy Bessette, Thomas Ritter, Daniel Toscano

University Senate Representatives: Amvrossios Bagtzoglou

University Staff: President Maric, Andy Agwunobi, Robert Corbett, Anne

D'Alleva, Gail Garber, Nicole Gelston, Jeffrey Geoghegan,

Katherine Grady, Nathan Fuerst, Jonathan Heinlein, David Hook, Philip Hunt, Andrea Keilty, David Koehler, Eric Kruger, Nathan LaVallee, Lynn Lesniak, Matthew Longenecker, Margaret McCarthy, Stanley Nolan, Angelo Quaresima, Rachel Rubin,

Joseph Thompson, Michelle Williams, Kristen Wirtanen, Reka

Wrynn

Vice-Chair Gandara called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m.

1. Public Participation

No members of the public signed up to address the Committee.

2. Minutes of the Buildings, Grounds and Environment Committee Meeting of June 11, 2024

On a motion by Trustee Gouin, seconded by Director Archambault, the Committee voted unanimously to approve the minutes of the June 11, 2024, Meeting.

3. Proposed Modification of Distribution Right-of-Way Easements on UConn Property between Hunting Lodge Road and King Hill Road in Storrs for the benefit of Connecticut Light & Power (aka CL&P or Eversource)

On a motion by Trustee Gouin, seconded by Director Archambault, the Committee voted unanimously to recommend this item to the full Board for approval.

4. Option Agreement Concerning Future Development of a Connected and Autonomous Vehicle Smart City at the UConn Depot Campus Presenter: Robert Corbett, Interim Associate Vice President of University Planning, Design &

Construction

Construction Assurance Office Report – September 2024
 Ninth Biennial Report (July 1, 2022 through June 30, 2024)
 Presenter: Angelo Quaresima, Associate Vice President and Chief Audit Executive

- 6. New Professional Services and General Contractor On-Call Solicitation Summary
 Presenter: Joseph Thompson, Associate Vice President of University Business Services and
 Chief Procurement Officer
- 7. Project Updates ~ Storrs Based Programs

Presenters: Robert Corbett, Interim Associate Vice President for University Planning,
Design and Construction
Stanley Nolan, Interim Associate Vice President for Facilities Operations

- 8. UConn Health Project Updates, Facilities Development and Operations
 Presenter: George Karsanow, Associate Vice President for UConn Health Campus Planning,
 Design & Construction
- 9. Projects Reviewed by BGE and to be presented to Financial Affairs on September 25, 2024, for Storrs Based Programs and UConn Health

This agenda item was informational.

10. Summary of Individual Change Orders Greater Than 3% of Project Cost (Storrs-based projects)

This agenda item was informational.

- 11. Status of Code Correction Projects
 - Construction Management Oversight Committee Quarterly Code Correction, Status Report – Code Exception Report
 - Quarterly Construction Status Report, Period Ending June 24, 2024

This agenda item was informational.

12. Construction Projects Status Report

This agenda item was informational.

13. University Senate Representative Report

There was no University Senate Representative Report.

14. 2025 BGE Meeting Schedule This agenda item was informational.

15. Other Business

There was no Other Business.

16. Executive Session

On a motion by Trustee Gouin, seconded by Director Archambault, the Committee voted unanimously to go into Executive Session at 11:02 a.m. pursuant to Connecticut General Statutes section 1-210(b)(1); 1-210(b)(5)(B) and 1-210(b)(7).

The following Trustees were in attendance: Bessette, Gandara, Gouin, Dennis-LaVigne, Ritter, Rubin, and Toscano.

The following UConn Health Board of Director was in attendance: Archambault.

The following University staff were in attendance for the entire Executive Session: Maric, D'Alleva, Geoghegan, Corbett, Garber, Gelston, Grady, Heinlein, LaVallee, Rubin, Williams, Wrynn, and Carone.

The Executive Session ended at 11:49 a.m., and the Committee returned to Open Session at 11:50 a.m.

17. Adjournment

On a motion by Trustee Dennis-LaVigne, seconded by Director Archambault, the Committee voted unanimously to adjourn the meeting at 11:51 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Debbie G. Carone

Debbie L. Carone

Secretary to the Committee