MINUTES

University of Connecticut Board of Trustees

Academic Affairs Committee September 24, 2024 Virtual Meeting

Committee Trustees: Jeanine Gouin, Andrea Dennis-LaVigne,

Bryan Pollard, Philip Rubin

University Senate Representatives: Karen Bresciano, D. Betsy McCoach

University Staff: Radenka Maric, Anne D'Alleva, Jessica Cooperman, Sarah

Croucher, Deanna Fitzgerald, Nathan Fuerst, Amy Gorin, Ofer Harel, Philip Hunt, Gladis Kersaint, Rachel Rubin, Leslie Shor, Tadarrayl Starke, Michelle Williams, Reka Wrynn, Ji-Cheng

Zhao

Vice-Chair Trustee Gouin called the meeting to order at 8:30 a.m.

1. Public Participation

No members of the public signed up to address the Committee.

2. Minutes from the June 18, 2024, Special Meeting

(Attachment 1)

On a motion by Trustee Rubin, seconded by Trustee Dennis-LaVigne, the Committee voted unanimously to approve the minutes of the June 18, 2024, Special Meeting.

3. Tenure at Hire (Attachment 2)

On a motion by Trustee Rubin, seconded by Trustee Dennis-LaVigne, the Committee voted unanimously to recommend Agenda Item #3 to the full Board for approval.

4. Designation of Emeritus Status

(Attachment 3)

On a motion by Trustee Rubin, seconded by Trustee Dennis-LaVigne, the Committee voted unanimously to recommend Agenda Item #4 to the full Board for approval.

5. Sabbatical Leave Recommendations

(Attachment 4)

On a motion by Trustee Rubin, seconded by Trustee Dennis-LaVigne, the Committee voted unanimously to recommend Agenda Item #5 to the full Board for approval.

6. Appointment of Associate Professor Jessica Cooperman to the Doris and (Attachment 5) Simon Konover Chair in Judaic Studies in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

On a motion by Trustee Rubin, seconded by Trustee Dennis-LaVigne, the Committee voted unanimously to recommend Agenda Item #6 to the full Board for approval.

7. Reappointment of Professor Robert Fahey to the George F. Cloutier
Professorship in Forestry in the College of Agriculture, Health and
Natural Resources

(Attachment 6)

On a motion by Trustee Rubin, seconded by Trustee Dennis-LaVigne, the Committee voted unanimously to recommend Agenda Item #7 to the full Board for approval.

8. Modification of Name of the Wells Fargo Center for Neurodiversity and (Attachment 7) Employment Innovation

On a motion by Trustee Rubin, seconded by Trustee Dennis-LaVigne, the Committee voted unanimously to recommend Agenda Item #8 to the full Board for approval.

INFORMATIONAL ITEMS

9. Introduction of New Academic Deans

Provost D'Alleva introduced the following new academic leaders: Deanna Fitzgerald, Dean of the School of Fine Arts, Ji-Cheng Zhao, Dean of the College of Engineering, Ofer Harel, Dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, Leslie Shor, Vice Provost and Dean of the Graduate School, and Tadarrayl Starke, Vice Provost for Undergraduate Student Success.

10. NECHE Accreditation Overview

Assistant Vice Provost for Academic Affairs Croucher presented an overview of the New England Commission on Higher Education accreditation process which will take place in Fall 2026.

11. University Senate Representative Report

University Senate Representative Bresciano gave an update on the University Senate's review of policies and procedures related to transfer credits for undergraduate students including lab credits and block transfers.

University Senate Representative McCoach gave an update on the University Senate's work to evaluate measures of student experience of teaching, formerly referred to as student evaluation of teaching.

12. Other Business

There was no Other Business.

13. Executive Session (as needed)

There was no Executive Session.

14. Adjournment

On a motion by Trustee Rubin, seconded by Trustee Dennis-LaVigne, the Committee voted unanimously to adjourn the meeting. The Committee meeting adjourned at 9:14 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Alexis Lohrey Secretary to the Committee