## **DRAFT MINUTES**

## University of Connecticut Board of Trustees

## Committee for Research, Entrepreneurship, and Innovation Thursday, April 25, 2024 Virtual Meeting

Committee Trustees:	Philip Rubin, Marilda Gandara, Sanford Cloud, Jr.
Other Committee Members:	Richard Vogel
University Staff:	Radenka Maric, Raman Bakal, Abhijit Banerjee, Chris Connors, Anne D'Alleva, Ana Fidantsef, Amy Gorin, Amit Kumar, Christine McCluskey, Matt Mroz, Brandon Nickle, David Noble, Erika Paine, Paul Parker, Vivek Ramakrishnan, Joanna Smiley, Ali Tamayol, Ira Turner, Vinay Thakur, Neeraj Visen

Vice-Chair Rubin called the meeting to order at 1:03 p.m.

1. Public Participation

No members of the public signed up to address the Committee.

2. Minutes from the December 7, 2023, Meeting

On a motion by Trustee Cloud, seconded by Committee Member Vogel, the Committee voted unanimously to approve the minutes of the December 7, 2023, meeting.

- Early Results from Revised SPARK Technology Commercialization Fund Program Dr. Matthew Mroz, Manager, Research Development Services Dr. Vivek Ramakrishnan, Director, Venture Development Dr. Lindsay DeStefano, Associate Vice President for Research Development
- 4. Presentation by SPARK Grant Awardee: Dr. Raman Bahal, Pharmaceutical Sciences

Dr. Bahal presented on the development of next generation kidney-targeted therapeutics.

5. Presentation by SPARK Grant Awardee: Dr. Ali Tamayol, Biomedical Engineering

Dr. Tamayol presented treatments regarding Musculoskeletal Injuries related to various traumas.

6. Other Business

There was no Other Business.

7. Executive Session (as needed)

There was no Executive Session.

8. Adjournment

On a motion by Trustee Cloud, seconded by Trustee Gandara, the Committee voted unanimously to adjourn. The meeting was adjourned at 2:00 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Jan Rockwood Secretary to the Committee