

April 17, 2024

TO: Members of the Board of Trustees

FROM: Laura Burton, Chair, Senate Executive Committee J. Buton

RE: Proposed Changes to the *By-Laws of the University of Connecticut*

RECOMMENDATION:

That the Board of Trustees amend the *By-Laws of the University of Connecticut* Article V – Committees of the Board of Trustees, Article VIII – The University Administration, and Article IX – The University Senate.

BACKGROUND:

The *By-Laws of the University of Connecticut* may be amended at any regular meeting of the Board by a recorded majority of all members of the Board provided that notice of any proposed amendment, including a draft thereof, shall have been given at a previous regular meeting. This document represents such notice and the resolution calling for the described amendments should be acted upon at one of the next three meetings of the Board.

On February 5, 2024, the University Senate passed four recommendations to amend Section F.3 of Article V, Section C.1 of Article VIII, and Sections B.4 and G.1 of Article IX in the *By-Laws*.

The recommendation to Section F.3 of Article V asks the Board to give the student governments at the regional campuses an equal advisory role in recommending two undergraduate students as voting members on the Student Life Committee.

The recommendation to Section C.1 of Article VIII asks the Board to expand the membership of The Trustee-Administration-Faculty-Student Committee by four to include the respective presidents of each regional campus student government.

The recommendation to Section B.4 of Article IX asks the Board to adjust the appointment process for undergraduate students representing the regional campuses on the University Senate.

The recommendation to Section G.1 of Article IX asks the Board to guarantee that one of the two seats on the Senate Executive Committee reserved for undergraduate students be filled by a senator representing a campus other than Storrs and clarify the procedure for determining student representation on the Senate Executive Committee.

For the information of the Board, also attached is the original language of Articles V, VIII, and IX, with indications of the proposed amendments.

Article V – Committees of the Board of Trustees

(Deleted items struck through, new language underlined)

F. Membership on Committees other than the Board of Directors of the University of Connecticut Health Center

3. The trustee elected by the undergraduate students will be appointed as a voting member of the standing committee having cognizance over financial matters. Upon the recommendation of the Undergraduate Student Government of Storrs, the Associated Student Government of Avery Point, the Undergraduate Student Government of Hartford, the Student Government Association of Stamford, and the Associated Student Government of Waterbury, the board shall appoint two undergraduate students as voting members to the standing committee having cognizance over student life matters. This paragraph three shall be null and void if the number of student trustees on the board is greater than two.

Article VIII - The University Administration

(Deleted items struck through, new language underlined)

C. The Trustee-Administration-Faculty-Student Committee

1. Membership

The Trustee-Administration-Faculty-Student (TAFS) Committee shall consist of the members of the committee of the Board of Trustees having cognizance over academic matters; the President; the Provost; the Vice Presidents; the members of the Senate Executive Committee; the President, Undergraduate Student Government of Storrs; the President, Associated Student Government of Avery Point; the President, Undergraduate Student Government of Hartford; the President, Student Government Association of Stamford; the President, Associated Student Government of Waterbury; the President, Student Union Board of Governors; the Chair, Residence Hall Advisory Board; the President, Graduate Student Senate; and such other individuals serving in a non-voting capacity as may be designated.

The Chairperson of the TAFS Committee shall be chosen by the Committee at its first meeting each academic year.

Article IX - The University Senate

(Deleted items struck through, new language underlined)

B. Elections

4. Five undergraduate Undergraduate student members representing the Storrs campus shall be appointed by the President of the Undergraduate Student Government of Storrs according to procedures established by the Undergraduate Student Government of Storrs.

Each regional campus The Avery Point, Hartford, Stamford, and Waterbury campuses shall each be represented by one student senator appointed according to procedures established by the Associated Student Government of Avery Point, the Undergraduate Student Government of Hartford, the Student Government Association of Stamford, and the Associated Student Government of Waterbury Undergraduate Student Government.

Article IX – The University Senate

(Deleted items struck through, new language underlined)

G. Committees

1. The Senate Executive Committee
The Senate Executive Committee (SEC) shall consist of eight faculty members, two
professional staff members, and two undergraduate and two graduate student members.
The faculty and professional staff members shall be elected by the Senate from among
the elected members of the Senate who are not primarily administrators. Department
heads and directors are not regarded as primarily administrators. The Both the
undergraduate and graduate members shall be selected elected from among and by all
student members of the their respective Senate delegation in a blanket election, wherein
the top vote-getters will serve as the Senate Executive Committee representatives. At
least one of the undergraduate student members of the SEC shall be a representative from
Storrs and at least one shall be a representative from Avery Point, Hartford, Stamford, or
Waterbury. The Undergraduate Student Government of Storrs and Graduate Student
Senate Presidents or their student Senate member designee will serve as the interim
student representatives to the Senate Executive Committee during the summer months
until the permanent members are selected.