DRAFT MINUTES

University of Connecticut Board of Trustees

Honors & Awards Committee March 25, 2024 Special Telephone Meeting

Committee Trustees: Andrea Dennis-LaVigne, Bryan Pollard, Philip Rubin,

Daniel Toscano

Other Committee Members: A. Mehdi Anwar, Emmanouil Anagnostou, Anne D'Alleva,

Louis Hanzlik, Dontae Richards

University Staff: Maryann Markowski, Rachel Rubin, Michelle Williams,

Cara Workman

On behalf of President Maric, Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs Anne D'Alleva called the meeting to order at 4:02 p.m.

1. Public Participation (limited to agenda items)

No members of the public signed up to address the Committee.

2. Minutes of the Special Meeting of February 7, 2024

On a motion by Trustee Rubin, seconded by Trustee Pollard, the Committee voted unanimously to approve the minutes of the February 7, 2024, Special Meeting.

3. Executive Session

There was no Executive Session.

4. Honorary Degree Nominees

On a motion by Trustee Pollard, seconded by Trustee Rubin, the Committee voted unanimously to recommend that the Board of Trustees award honorary degrees to the following individuals:

- Ramani Durvasula, Doctor of Science
- Daniel Fata, Doctor of Laws
- Barbara Liskov, Doctor of Science
- Marilynn Malerba, Doctor of Humane Letters
- Maya Moore Irons, Doctor of Humane Letters
- Ruth Simmons, Doctor of Humane Letters

5. Adjournment

On a motion by Trustee Rubin, seconded by Professor Anwar, the Committee voted unanimously to adjourn the meeting. The Committee meeting adjourned at 4:12 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Maryann Markowski Staff to the Committee