MINUTES

SPECIAL TELEPHONE MEETING

University of Connecticut Board of Trustees Honors & Awards Committee February 7, 2024

Committee Trustees: Bryan Pollard, Philip Rubin, Daniel Toscano

Other Committee Members: Radenka Maric, A. Mehdi Anwar, Emmanouil Anagnostou,

Anne D'Alleva, Justin Guinta, Bruce Liang, Dontae Richards

University Staff: Susan Locke, Maryann Markowski, Rachel Rubin,

Michelle Williams

President Maric called the meeting to order at 3:03 p.m.

1. Public Participation (limited to agenda items)

No members of the public signed up to address the Committee.

2. Minutes of the Special Meeting of November 27, 2023

On a motion by Trustee Rubin, seconded by Trustee Pollard, the Committee voted unanimously to approve the minutes of the November 27, 2023, Special Meeting.

3. Executive Session

On a motion by Trustee Pollard, seconded by Trustee Rubin, the Committee voted unanimously to go into Executive Session at 3:08 p.m. regarding:

Preliminary drafts or notes provided the public agency has determined that
the public interest in withholding such documents clearly outweighs the public
interest in disclosure [pursuant to Connecticut General Statute (CGS) Section 1210(b)(1)].

The following Committee members were in attendance: Maric, Anagnostou, Anwar, D'Alleva, Guinta, Liang, Pollard, Richards, Rubin, and Toscano.

The following University staff were in attendance for the entire Executive Session: Locke, Markowski, Rubin, and Williams.

The Executive Session ended at 3:17 p.m., and the Committee returned to Open Session at 3:17 p.m.

4. Honorary Degree Nominees

The Committee will meet at a future date to confirm nominees and vote on a recommendation to the Board.

5. Adjournment

On a motion by Trustee Pollard, seconded by Trustee Rubin, the Committee voted unanimously to adjourn the meeting. The Committee meeting adjourned at 3:18 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Maryann Markowski Staff to the Committee